Category: Legal Documents

Library of legal documents relevant for the debate on the elimination of nuclear weapons.

Rio Declaration on Environment and Development (1992)

The Rio Declaration on Environment was adopted at the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development in Rio de Janeiro in June 1992. The Rio Declaration is a statement of 27 principles upon which nations agreed to base their actions in dealing with environmental and development issues.
Rio Declaration (1992).

Mongolia’s Nuclear-weapon-free status

The UN General Assembly welcomed on its 79th plenary meeting in December 1998 the decision of Mongolia to declare its territory a nuclear-weapon-free zone.
Mongolia’s International Security and Nuclear-Weapon-Free Status (pdf).

Moon Treaty

The Agreement Governing the Activities of States on the Moon and Other Celestial Bodies, also known as the Moon Treaty or Moon Agreement. The treaty was opened for signature on 18 December 1979 and came into force on 11 July 1984.
Moon Treaty (treaty text, pdf).

Seabed Treaty

Treaty on the prohibition of the emplacement of nuclear weapons and other weapons of mass destruction on the sea-bed and the ocean floor and in the subsoil thereof. The treaty was opened for signature on 11 February 1971 and entered into force on 18 May 1972.
Seabed Treaty (treaty text, pdf).

Outer Space Treaty

Treaty on principles governing the activities of states in the exploration and use of outer space, including the moon and other celestial bodies. The treaty was opened for signature on 27 January 1967 and entered into force on 10 October 1967.
Outer Space Treaty (treaty text, pdf).

Antarctic Treaty

The treaty declares the Anarctic continent a demilitarized zone as well as a zone free from nuclear weapons. The Anarctic treaty was signed on 1 December 1959 by twelve states whose scientists had been active in and around Antarctica 1957-58. Among the signatories there were seven countries with territorial claims. The treaty entered into force on 23 June 1961 and has since been acceded to by many states and there are now 47 parties to the treaty.
Antarctic Treaty (treaty text, pdf).

Treaty of Semipalatinsk

The Central Asian Nuclear-weapon-free zone treaty or the treaty of Semipalatinsk was signed by Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan on 8 September 2006. The treaty was ratified by all signatory states and came into force on 21 March 2009.
Treaty of Semipalatinsk (treaty text, pdf).

Treaty of Pelindaba

The African Nuclear-weapon-free zone treaty or the treaty of Pelindaba was opened for signature on 11 April 1996. The treaty came into force on 15 July 2009 and has been ratified by 30 of 51 signatory states.
Treaty of Pelindaba (treaty text, pdf).